South America


The South American nation of Ecuador is considered one of the 17 countries where the planet's highest biodiversity is concentrated and has more biodiversity per square mile than other country in the world.

The country has two cities UNESCO World Heritage Sites: Quito and Cuenca, as well as two natural UNESCO World Heritage Sites: the Galapagos Islands and Sangay National Park in addition to one World Biosphere Reserve.

Among the main tourist destinations are:

  • Nature attractions: Galapagos Islands, Yasuni National Park, El Cajas National Park, Sangay National Park, Podocarpus National Park, Vilcabamba, Baños de Agua Santa.

  • Cultural attractions: Historic center of Quito, Ciudad Mitad del Mundo, Ingapirca, Historic center of Cuenca, Latacunga and its Mama Negra festival.

  • Snowy mountains: Antisana volcano, Cayambe volcano, Chimborazo volcano, Cotopaxi volcano, Illinizas volcanoes.

  • Beaches: Crucita, Atacames, Bahía de Caráquez, Esmeraldas, Manta, Salinas, Montañita

The three biggest cities of Ecuador are: Quito which is the capital of Ecuador, Guayaquil and Cuenca.


Odoo text and image block